OX

“I was never really satisfied with my exhibitions in galleries.”

OX, who was born in 1963 in northeastern France in the little town of Troyes and now lives near Paris, attended the Paris art academy ENSAD and was a member of the legendary French artist collective “Les Frères Ripoulin” (together with Pierre Huyghe, Claude Closky and Jean Faucheur).
He has been working in the public space since the eighties, long before the concept of street art existed at all and graffiti becomes cult. After the group disbanded, OX started practicing classic painting, but then quickly returned to the street.

Oversized billboards became his media of choice. He covers them with geometric and abstract compositions, some of his works are similar to the color field painting of Mark Rothko and others are reminiscent of surreal dream worlds.

Editors: Edition a & a
Language: German, English, French

Release: March 2015
Price incl. transport (GER+EU!): € 26,90

Format: 17 x 25 cm

Features: 304 pages, more than 350 full colour images, hardcover
ISBN: 978-3-89955- 577 – 6
Requests: andreas@international-neighborhood.de

OX

DSC08236_freigestellt

“Meine Ausstellungen in Galerien haben mich nicht wirklich befriedigt.”

OX, 1963 im Nordosten Frankreichs geboren, in der Kleinstadt Troyes, lebt heute in der Nähe von Paris, hat an der Pariser Kunsthochschule ENSAD studiert und war Mitglied des legendären französischen Künstlerkollektivs “Les Frères Ripoulin” (u.a. mit Pierre Huyghe, Claude Closky und Jean Faucheur).

Er arbeitete bereits in den achtziger Jahren im öffentlichen Raum, lange bevor der Begriff Street-Art überhaupt existierte und Graffiti zum Kult wurde. Nachdem sich die Gruppe auflöste, begann OX mit klassischer Malerei, kehrte aber schnell wieder auf die Straße zurück.

Überdimensionale Werbetafeln wurden zu seinem bevorzugten Medium. Er überzieht sie mit geometrischen und abstrakten Kompositionen, manche seiner Arbeiten erinnern an die Farbmalerei von Mark Rothko oder an surrealistische Traumwelten.

Herausgeber: Edition a & a
Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch

Erscheinungsjahr: März 2015
Preis inkl. Versand (DE+EU!): € 26,90

Format: 17 x 25 cm

Kenndaten: 304 Seiten, über 350 vollfarbige Abbildungen, Hardcover
ISBN: 978-3-89955- 577 – 6
Anfragen andreas@international-neighborhood.de